Filmmaker Steven Soderbergh said that after shooting the upcoming psychological thriller Unsane on an iPhone, he will likely shoot all future movies the same way – despite previously enthusing about high-end RED cameras.

Soderbergh said that while some indie filmmakers shoot on iPhone for PR or budget reasons, that’s not what drove his decision …

The director told Indiewire that the 4K capture looked great even on the big screen.

He said that shooting on iPhone was a ‘liberating’ experience.

The filmmaker has experimented with digital cinematography for years, going back to 2002’s “Full Frontal,” but found that the iPhone offered unparalleled quality. “People forget, this is a 4k capture,” said Soderbergh, who was long a passionate advocate for the high-end RED cameras. “I’ve seen it 40 feet tall. It looks like velvet. This is a gamechanger to me.”

Unsane is scheduled for release on March 23. The plot revolves around a young woman who is involuntarily committed to a mental institution ‘where she is confronted by her greatest fear — but is it real or is it a product of her delusion?’

“I’d have to have a pretty good reason not to be thinking about that […] There’s a philosophical obstacle a lot of people have about the size of the capture device. I don’t have that problem. I look at this as potentially one of the most liberating experiences that I’ve ever had as a filmmaker, and that I continue having. The gets that I felt moment to moment were so significant that this is, to me, a new chapter.”

Other films shot on iPhone include Cannes Grand Prix winner Paranmanjang, Sundance hit Tangerine, documentary The Painter of Jalouzi, cinematic short Made in Paris and Apple-funded Détour.

Via Gizmodo